The Accident

Today was a not a good day. Began well enough. A bright,  mild, morning with some winter sun pushing through the grey skyscape. The waves were pumping, the odd gnarly one and quite a breeze but lots of dudes out there so we hurried in to join the party!

Conditions a little tricky but we got plenty of rides. After about 50 mins, coming down the face of the wave I was edged off balance by a sly wave pushing sideways. As I wiped out I felt the board hit my nose. Shit! Hadn’t got my hands up quickly enough! Hoped it was nothing much and began to paddle out again till my mate yelled at me to go in. As I paused blood cascaded onto my gloves and board and I buried my head in the waves to try and stench the flow and reduce any swelling.

After 10 minutes or so we struggled to the car, where after changing , my companion insisted on a check out at the local A&E.

They didn’t think my nose was broken but couldn’t be sure. Blood pressure was high, they stuck the cut together, gave me painkillers and off I went already sporting an elephant nose and the start of two black eyes! I slumped in the car gratefully as my good mate drove back.

I didn’t feel great but carried on fairly normally for the next few days, did no sport and rested a bit. By the 4th day I felt decidedly ill. My head was pounding and throbbing alarmingly and I felt pretty weak. The doc was fully booked and the drop in medical centre sent me straight to A&E. By this time my blood pressure had rocketed, my limbs were going numb I couldn’t lift them and I was shaking uncontrollably.

The CT scan fortunately revealed no fracture just bad bruising and swelling of the brain causing concussion. I was instructed to rest and do nothing for at least 3 weeks.

That was 2 weeks ago and Ifeel I am just beginning to turn the corner. The frightening pounding, swelling, pulsating and burning in my head is diminishing each day and slowly I am regaining some strength and managing to stay awake!

I am very lucky to have a loving and supportive family caring for me and making this  time as easy as possible. I owe them all big time!

It was a nasty experience and I fear I shall have lost confidence out back. There have been whispers about helmets but I don’t really want that. I am hoping in the next couple of months when I get back in the waves I shall still feel the old thrill and be able to put this out of my mind! After all it happens to the best, see last issue of ‘Carve’ mag-Keala Kennelly’s story.

Meanwhile -sorry no blog for a while-but watch this space folks!

One Response to “The Accident”

  1. seaweed hair Says:

    Really sorry to hear of your accident, surfdancer! Sounds awful! Hoping for a speedy recovery for you and sure you’ll soon be back in the waves and braving it outback! Once a surfer…always a surfer!!x

Leave a comment